top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFredRick FroLick

My 10 favorite pieces of literature

Updated: Jan 3, 2021

Definitely NOT what the teachers told me to read!

When I was a student, I always hated being told what to read. If teachers wanted to see what I could do and get a true picture of how well I could read, why didn't they allow me to choose the books? I know the common narrative is that kids always choose the easiest books and then they are not expanding their literary experience beyond entry level stories. I don't believe that in the slightest. As a matter of fact, I would argue that students who choose their literature are far more likely to remain committed to finishing a book and not resorting to online summaries and Spark Notes for their responses.

“Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers.”– Charles W. Eliot

To that end, here is a list of my 10 favorite pieces of literature that I recommend for all readers.

1) The Martian - This was FANTASTIC! I was enamored with the movie and chose to see if the book held up. Though the primary story is pretty much spot on, there are definitely unique elements that make it a great read in its own right.


2) The Warmth of Other Suns - Talk about character building, this is the perfect book for both insight and understanding historical context around the Great Migration which is essential for understanding racial discord in America.


3) The Color of Law - This book highlights and explains the use of political power to segregate and divide American Cities across the country through "Red Lining" and other tools leading to enhanced systemic racism.


4) The Cosmopolitan Canopy - As someone who lives close to Philadelphia, this book provides such an authentic glimpse into the inner workings of society in a big city with considerations for various ethnic and cultural groups.


5) Guyland - As a professor at Temple University, I require my students to read excerpts from this book to inform and build character around gender issues and learning acceptance.


6) Call it Courage - I read it in grade school and can still pull it out at any point and be just as entertained. A great book for young readers.


7) Stranger with My Face - I actually recommend anything by Lois Duncan but I find this one to be so underappreciated. With the success of the "I Know What You Did Last Summer" Movie, I have always been surprised that more of her books haven't ended up on the big screen. So well written!


8) It's Good to Be the King ... Sometimes - Jerry "the King" Lawler really opens the reader's eyes to the behind the scenes experiences in the world of Professional Wrestling as a superstar who has faced virtually everyone over his 50 year career.


9) The Three Theban Plays - Sitting on a train going to and from Temple University, I needed something to distract me from the scene of endless stops. The Three Theban Plays served the purpose and were a perfect escape from reality.


10) Black Beauty - This book helped me to break free from the monotonous teacher required reading when I was young and remains one of the most influential books in my experience.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page